aosid's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

it begins as these nights often do - legs ache then slowly numb in my too-soft twin-sized. the complaints settle sufficiently around six and the light from the fog outside smears across my sight.

i am greeted by typical garbled imagery - facade of a building almost recognized covered in snow or ants or static - old professor approaches to collect a paper - barking conversation.

then it resolves. the realistic ones, they scare me the most. this is a birthday party: my family is there with twenty or thirty other people i know. it must be victoria's birthday. twenty-one finally. i nervously avoid eye contact with her like i have for years. finally she catches me, smiles and waves. my bird-heart hops and i return the greeting. i light a cigarette to calm down but we are inside so there is already a dirty california smog around the ceiling. i am too embarrassed to stop. she comes to my table. we carry on like four years but soon i am drunk with terror. i lean over and hold her at a strange honest angle like you do when there is no time to stand up. i do not see her reaction.

my eyes focus on the tree outside. it has accumulated an inch-or-so of frost since i saw it.

3:37 p.m. - 2012-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry