aosid's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

i suspect used to do something right, because people are still excited to see me

i've been caught by a canvasser. he catches my eye as a crosses the road, gives a sly wink, then goes completely stoic, intercepts the clipboard. we let her finish her sale, bid her farewell. he situates his bag of kale then pulls me into a rough overdue embrace.

i worry that they'll find out that i don't have it anymore, that i share only the name and not whatever magic i used to weave

i am scanning the crowd for familiar faces and curiously failing to find any. i've ironically overlooked her and she waves me down. there are introductions and a graceful little hug. the encounter is brief and typical and pleasant.

and that now i'm burning through my savings of love and fondness and memories

he appears in front of me. i blink slowly three times, shout his name, and i surprise myself when i lunge for him. i don't start these things, but the sheer joy of the third serendipitous meeting overtakes me.

and that someday soon i'll run out of past and that these dear hearts won't care to hold the dull stranger who inherited my face

8:19 a.m. - 2013-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry