aosid's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

We walked astride and speculated as to whether one of us was the other's alter ego, walking on the other side of the sundial. I suggested that it was a boon, that we had all the more time to see the city, that I was glad we could possess the characteristics and skills we admired about each other, though we didn't recall it. He thought it was sad, would rather that we could meet more than once a month, when the fog fell just right at dusk.

I spent the summer waiting eagerly for cold-warm words across the border. We often stayed up until dawn, reminding each other about stellar happenings, sharing the quirky insights that only introverts recognize. Once, but only once, we even saw the same meteor shower. I didn't take the news well, that a person may think one way and speak another, especially not when that person is me.

We drank gin and tonics and played cribbage until I was only just capable of leaving. He talked about how the moon landings were faked and I laughed; I talked about how young I was and he laughed. He told me about how scared she was of herself, and about how his father was severe but admirable. I told him about how I have to be stoic at all times, and about how I threw away what I wanted. We shivered together out in the drifts.

I forgot entire seasons on my own. I had a fool's plan to drag the horizon closer by blacking out the foothills. I dropped whatever it was I brought to the table. I miss the whispers and the plans and the baggage and the secrets. I miss the contour. I miss you.

8:25 a.m. - 2013-03-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry